City of Darien Minutes of the Administrative/Finance Committee June 3, 2019

The Meeting was called to order by Chairwoman/Alderwoman Sullivan at 6:00 pm. Committee members Aldermen Gustafson and Schauer were present. Mayor Marchese, Treasurer Coren, City Administrator Vana were also present.

Approval of an Ordinance creating the Darien Economic Development Committee

Mayor Marchese introduced a proposed ordinance which would create a seven member Darien Economic Development Committee (DEDC) and described the purpose of the Economic Development Committee is to advise the City on the development and implementation of business retention/expansion programs, advise the City on the implementation of a marketing program to attract new business and industry, monitor business activity and trends on the local, State, and national level, establish a focal point for businesses to approach and discuss issues that affect them, and engage representatives from community and regional entities as appropriate on matters for economic development. The committee supported the creation of the committee and discussed the importance of business retention and asked questions pertaining to recommendations that may come from the DEDC. The Committee unanimously recommended approval of the ordinance creating the DEDC. The ordinance and appointments to the committee will be scheduled for the June 17th, 2019, Council meeting.

Treasurer's Review/Overview- City Finances

Treasurer Coren distributed a handout and provided a review/overview of city finances, focusing on the General and Capital Projects funds and cash/fund balances. The committee asked a number of questions of Treasurer Coren.

Minutes –November 5, 2018

The Committee unanimously approved the minutes.

Other Business

Alderman Schauer advised of the increased gas tax soon to be implemented by the State and suggested that it may be a good time to review our local gas tax as a way to pay for increasing expenses such as the police pension fund.

<u>Adjournment</u> - The meeting adjourned at 6:59 pm.

Approved:
Mary Sullivan, Chairwoman
Eric Gustafson, Member
Ted Schauer, Member