POLICE COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES February 2, 2012

Call to Order

Chairman McIvor called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m. in the Council Chambers of the Darien City Hall. **Committee members in attendance:** Chairman McIvor, Alderman Poteraske and Alderman Joerg Seifert

Others in attendance: Chief Brown, Deputy Chief John Cooper, Administrator Vana, Mayor Weaver, Treasurer Coren

Public Comment and Communications

There were no public comment or communications presented.

Minutes

The minutes of the January 5, 2012 Police Committee meeting were approved 3-0

Draft Budget Review – FYE 4-30-13

Staff reviewed the draft police department budget that will be presented to the full council on February 22, 2012. Staff advised that the draft may still be revised prior to the first budget meeting. Staff answered a number of questions from the police committee members.

Taser Policy Review & Resistance Reports

The staff reviewed police department policy number 309, *Taser Guidelines*. The staff also reviewed the police department report resistance response activity which is used to maintain records of action police officers take when a subject is resisting arrest. The staff also demonstrated the taser replacement units that are included in the draft budget.

Sale of Surplus Property

Staff presented a recommended list of city property to be declared as surplus property and auctioned using an on-line auction service. The property included a number of vehicles that are being replaced and various other small pieces of equipment. The Police Committee unanimously recommended approval of an ordinance declaring the items surplus property and that the property to be auctioned using Public Surplus or be disposed of.

Department Report

The staff reviewed the activities for the month of January 2012.

Next Meeting Date

Chairman McIvor announced that the next Committee meeting will be on Thursday, March 1, 2012, 6:00 p.m. in the City Council Chambers.

Adjournment

The Committee Meeting was adjourned at 7:15 p.m.

Approved:		Alderman:	
Date			Joerg Seifert
Chairman:		Alderman:	
Sylvia M	IcIvor		John Poteraske