City of Darien Minutes of the Administrative/Finance Committee April 3, 2017

The Meeting was called to order by Chairman/Alderman Ted Schauer at 6:00 pm. Committee members present were Aldermen Chlystek and Kenny. Treasurer Mike Coren and staff members present included City Administrator Bryon Vana, and Assistant City Administrator Paul Nosek.

<u>Mosquito Contract – Consideration to continue service with Clarke Mosquito for a two or</u> three year contract

Staff advised that Clarke Mosquito has been the contractor to control mosquito population for the City of Darien since approximately 2006. There currently are no other alternatives for mosquito abatement and Clarke has offered to the City of Darien two separate proposals. The first option is three year pricing of \$40,887 or the second is a 2 year contract that includes a 2% increase on average to \$40,887 in year 1 and \$42,110 in year 2. These 2 proposals are part of their EarthRight Program, a more environmentally friendly operation that reduces the City's carbon footprint as well as utilizes an EPA recognized larvicide called Natular. The second proposal is their standard program which has an increase of 4% for each year or a 2 year program with similar increases. The Committee unanimously recommended approval of option1.

<u>Motion – Approving an agreement between the City of Darien and the Darien Chamber of Commerce - 2017 Darien Fest</u>

Staff advised that during this year's budget meetings the City Council discussed options regarding the Chamber reimbursing the City for City expenses related to Darien Fest. Treasurer Coren provided an option for determining the reimbursement for City expenses and that option was reviewed by the City Council. The option was put into an agreement form and is to be considered by the City and Chamber. The Committee reviewed the agreement and unanimously recommended approval.

Minutes - October 6, 2016

The minutes were approved as presented.

Adjournment - The meeting adjourned at 6:22.

Approved:	
Ted Schauer, Chairman	
Joseph Kenny, Member	
Thomas Chlystek, Member	